TPO 40- Some people offer their school-age children money for each high score they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

How to motivate students to perform well at school is a controversial issue in today’s world. With this in mind, a debate exits as to whether or not paying money for every educational improvement is a good idea. Were I ask to give my point of view on this view, I would definitely disagree with offering children money as a reward on some reasons. The following paragraphs will aptly elucidate my stand point with two conspicuous reasons.

The first and foremost reason is that using money reward to encourage children makes misunderstanding for them about the main purpose of hard-working in school. In this regard, enriching their wallet has been considered the reason of school, rather than enriching their mind and character. Without any shallow of doubt, they do the minimum amount of their endeavor only to get reward—not being successful academically. As an illustrator, consider a school-age child studied hard for a biology test, and did all his best to obtain the mark which his parent had determined. Consequently, he was not successful in the test. If his parents do not appreciate their effort, henceforth he will not any interesting and motivation in learning biology. Therefore, parents should focus on the children’s effort, instead of highlighting the result, as a result children learn that endeavor if of great more important than the result.

Another salient point touching on my stand point is that no one can turn a blind eye to this fact that money cannot buy smart, motivation, and school success. It is true that appreciation is always a better motivator for children to do their best in studying; however, it cannot guarantee the children’s succeeding. A saying comes to mind, the equivalent of which in English may sound like this, “success cannot has price.” Which may be of assistant to clarify that paying for grades preparing children to rely on payouts rather than to work hard in school. Conspicuously, children will truly flourish if parents help them cultivate a love of learning for their own education, not to accustom them to give reward.

As a consequence of the aforementioned reasons and example, it is crystal clear that paying children for grade causes a student to lose appreciation for the intrinsic value of learning. last but not the least, it is highly advised to highlight children’s hard-working due to the considerable impact of it on motivate children to love learning.