TPO45:

In the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better to able to make decision about their own lives.

We are living in a day and age in which youngsters are pillars of the nation, therefore, decision-making about their lives is very critical. With this in mind, a debate exists as to whether or not today’s young people have the ability of making decision without any dependency on their parents. Were I ask to give my point of view about this issue, I would definitely agree with this statement on some reasons. The following paragraphs will aptly elucidate my standpoint with two conspicuous reasons.

The first and foremost reason is that thanks to development of human modern society and breathless space flourishing in science and technology, today’s generation can make decision independently. Conspicuously, youths can foster their information and skills by using Internet, state-of-the-art implement, and educational books in wide variety of aspects of life. Such a great situation will assist the youths to gain their needed factors for making new decisions. In this regard, a saying comes to my mind, the equivalent of which in English may sound like this, “modern society make today’s young as a God,” which helps us to depict the differences between youngsters’ abilities in now and the past. That is to say, in the last century, children did need their parents in order to consulting about their financial, economic, educational issues, and so forth, due to low level of public information and lack of well-educated persons. Therefore, today’s generation, in comparison with the past one, are more capable to make decision about their own lives.

Another salient reason touching on my standpoint is that today’s parent set priority over children’s satisfaction and never expect their children to fulfill the parents’ expectation. As a result of this fact, children gain more self-confidence in independent thinking – without any interference from their parents—for their lives. Conspicuously, it is not true that the old youth cannot decide about themselves, however they gave great value for elder’s recommendation. Under these circumstances, the young had no choice to do whatever rules, desires of parents As an illustrator, in the past the youth did not any right in choosing their partnership in their life. They accepted everyone whom their family introduced as a proper person. Nonetheless, now, parents are the last ones who to be informed of their children’s choice as a spouse. Hence, in the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them.

As a consequence of aforementioned reasons and examples, it is crystal clear that today’s youngsters enjoy more self-confidence than those in the past. Last but not least, it is highly advised parents pay more attention to upbringing their children due to the considerable impact of it on their future life.