TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers are the creator of the nation and they should receive high respect in society. However, these days people have sharp declined in their moral values and they are unable to respect their teachers. Yeas, I agree with the statement that teachers were more respected in past compare these days. I feel this way because of two reasons which will explain in the following essay.

First of all, it is an irrefutable fact that teaching is a most respectful job in any society, their ultimate goal is to spread knowledge and wisdom in the society and create a better nation. Their primary job is to teach in school and colleges, however, these days most of the colleges have an online or distance learning system. In this system, students enrol himself to the college web portal and after that they get online reading materials and in the last students write their online exam. In this system, there is no proper teaching model involved. As a result, students don’t know the value of a teacher. Even they don’t know the hard work of a teacher who prepared their online subject material. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Last year I finished my online diploma in business administration. In this program, there was no teacher involved. Due to this I was unable to understand the value of a teacher and their sacrifices for the society. Therefore, I believe that this might be a potential reason of decline teacher’s respect in society.

Secondly, in the last decade, few teachers are involved in a heinous criminal activity which is not acceptable by any society or any nation. Last year, one teacher was involved in raping of his own students in the USA. In the Maxico, two teachers were arrested in the drug case. In my personal experience, three teachers of my old school were arrested in sex abuse. It was a shocking news for me because these teachers were very respected in my city. In my opinion, this kind of activities is also involved in the decline of respect.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that teachers are the highly respectful personal of the society, but in the current scenario as a society, we are unable to understand the importance of a teacher. However, some teachers are also involved in some disrespectful job, which is also a reason of disrespect.