TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teaching used to be a highly respected profession but it doesn't seem that way anymore. Although education is still valued, teachers are not appreciated as much as they used to be. That lack of appreciation can be attributed to the way kids are being educated these days and the decline in the quality of teachers who teach at schools.

In the past, the knowledge was mostly gained through a teacher who used provide guidance. For that, a teacher used to hold a respectable position in a society. Parents used to rely on the teachers to guide their kids to achieve success in their lives. In the age of internet, kids rely on online classes, Youtube videos, Wikipedia where kids don't have direct interaction with the person posting the content. The focus is more on the content rather than the content provider which dehumanizes a teacher and hence the appreciation.

Teachers used to be role models for wise, sincere, reliable and responsible individuals. As the sources of knowledge increased, parents stopped relying on the teachers to educate their kids. The focus shifted to using online sources which often gave a false sense of access to reliable limitless information. This reduced the focus on the role of a teacher and the appreciation for the role. Teachers today earn less than minimum wages in some states. Imagine highly educated individuals working for less than minimum wage.

Teaching as a profession would transform into a totally different experience in the digital age and I hope teachers would find their former glory in this new age.