TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

“Teachers are like candles which are burned to guide us in the darkness.” That is one of the most important sentences in Persian culture which students used it to commemorate their teachers in the past. Although teaching is one of the most respectful careers in every society, its value in some societies nowadays may become more or less than in the past. I strongly believe that teachers were more valued in the past than they are today. In the ensuing lines, I will elaborate on the most outstanding reasons.

First and foremost, teachers were the only source students could refer them to find the answers to their questions in the past in comparison with today. Nowadays, by rising new technologies and online courses and forums, students often refer to the internet and google their questions. The more students rely on online courses, The fewer teachers are valued by students. Thus, students feel no dependency on their teachers anymore. Not only can students update their knowledge daily but also they can access the Internet everywhere and every time. For instance, I am a computer engineering student. In my major, students often search their questions and codes on the internet rather than to asking their teachers. Furthermore, students can find other questions with their answers which other ones have asked before. Therefore, students can be challenged and compete with other engineers in forum environments and make themselves up to date.

Admittedly, there are more valued jobs for people rather than in the past. Until several years ago, every person who had studied had tried to become a teacher. By rising universities and enhancing the number of well-educated persons, people tend to be an engineer or doctor or other academic careers. When the number of universities rises, students tendency for entering to the university and find the best job except teaching enhance, too. For example, in the past, often people followed their ancestor’s careers and a few of them tended to become a teacher. Therefore, the number of teachers was low and consequently their prestige was high. However, today people value people and careers related to the science and technology.

To put it briefly, based on the reasons I mentioned above, teachers were in high prestige in the past because they were one of the limited knowledge resources for students and also it was one of a few appropriate jobs in the past. I believe that people value other careers related to the sciences and technologies rather than teaching.