TPO 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that people have been living in a complex era. In this regard, every government tries to invest in the different era in order to make the world a better place for living. A hot debate is raised that the government should pay money in support of the arts or it should pay more attention to the athletics. As for this writer’s opinion, I subscribe to the former idea. In what follows, I will elaborate on the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason is that people will get high inspiration to get involved in the artworks. It is crystal clears that a lot of ordinary people cannot attend to artwork just because they do not have money. As the way of illustration, my friend is a painter and she has been painting since she was 6 years old. Unfortunately, her parents are poor and they have never supported her to establish an exhibition and shows her works in art’s world. I believe that had she supported by someone she would have famed in this career; however, not only does no one support her but also she decides to quit painting. This example clears how much supporting people in the art can motivate people to continue and participate in artworks.

Furthermore, art is a representation of every society’s culture. It is essential for governments to familiarize other countries with its own culture and bold it all around the world. The more money the government pays in art, the more ardent people all around the world will be attracted by the culture. As the way of illustration, in my country, Iran, traditional music is a unique form of art. Several years ago, the government has paid money in this area in order to inspire musicians to create concerts in Europe and Asia continent. In this way, people from different countries could be familiar with this kind of music. Today, after several years, the demand for learning this kind of music increases because they were inspired by this music. As this example illustrates artworks can affect people from different cultures by culture transferring.

To put it briefly, as I mentioned above, one can infer that how much artworks are important for a society because not only people who work in the art need financial supports but also art refers to cultural transferring between countries. As for this writer’s advice, I highly urge the governments to put their money into art instead of athletics.