TPO-41 Teachers were more valued and appreciated in the past more than today or not?

Teachers have a significant and remarkable role in people's life either in ancient times or current periods. Although some people argue that the teachers are appreciated and valued by society as much as before, others assume that the instructors do not have good prestige nowadays. In my view, the teachers are used to be more respected in the past in comparison of today so I agree with the latter group and my reasons are elaborated on in the following paragraphs.

First, the teachers are not the mere source of information nowadays. The advent of various assortment of technologies makes people less dependent on teachers. There is no restriction for people to access the other attractive source of information such as the internet. Therefore, there is less need for the teacher to gain knowledge and information compare with the past time. People can easily surf the internet and find out whatever they want about the surrounding world. For instance, when I was senior, my professor considered a final research project for students. The professor was completely preoccupied with his academic research so he did not have enough time to work on his student’s projects. The student gained the indispensable and required information by surfing the net and their professor was as a guide for them. So, by the development of technology the function of instructors is not as effective as before.

Second, the job opportunity was scarce in the past and there were ample obstacles in society for becoming a teacher so a person who became a teacher was a talented and wise person. So the teachers were considered as a high social class of society in the previous time. My father’s memorable experience is a compelling example of this. My father was the sole teacher in his town and he always tried to make their students more passionate about school. The people of his town well-understood the importance of my father’ role by looking at their children’s prosperity so they respected and admired him. Therefore, The rarity and lack of teachers in the past made teachers a hero in society.

In conclusion, although some people believe that the teachers have their reputation as like before, I do not agree with them. The absence of technology was a powerful reason in the past that the teachers used to be the main treasures of information and knowledge. Moreover, because the minority of people had a chance to be a teacher so they were more respected and had an excellent reputation in ancient time.