TPO 42

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

it is essential for employers to provide employees with work that will keep them interested in their job. I am of the conviction that workers will be motivated to work if they had different duties to do during work hours. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, constantly doing the same thing bores most people and therefore employees will be fed up with their work. If people are obligated to do tasks with little to no difference between them, they would start to feel bored. Conversely, making people work with dissimilar tasks will keep them interested. My father's experience is a compelling example of this. In 2008, my father was working as an office worker and he was unsatisfied with his job because the only thing he did was copying things on his computer. When he decided to change his job to a teacher, I could see he was excited to do his work everyday. Moreover, he feels that it was an excellent choice to switch his job because it allowed him to deal with different students and do different tasks during workday such as grading students, preparing for the next class and do research.

Secondly, majority of workers like to experiment with different tasks and challenge themselves. Giving employees different tasks to do is equivalent to offering an opportunity to gain knowledge and experiment with work. I believe my sister will be a great example of this. My sister decided to work for a company that gives a chance to do different tasks and develop necessary skills throughout her workday. Since she likes to be challenged, she was incredibly satisfied with her job and her colleagues were happy with their job as well. On the other hand, her friend was extremely unpleased with her work and even resigned because her work required her to do same task everyday.

To conclude, I think many people would prefer to work in a workplace that offers variety of tasks to do during workday since it will be interesting and maintain workers motivated. Also, it helps workers to establish crucial skill sets.