Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People pursue happiness for their entire lifetime, whether it is doing things they love or work diligently to succeed. Also, there are tasks that we must do in our everyday life and we should be responsible for it. However, some people get too carried away by their enjoyment and forget or choose not to do their these mundane tasks we should accomplish. I believe people use their precious time on doing things that will satisfy themselves for a short period of time rather than things that are necessary to survive as a human being. I will explore the reasons why I hold this opinion for the following paragraphs.

First of all, as the technology advances, we have more distractions getting in the way of our accomplishing a goal, or doing our job. Majority of these distractions are made to entertain people such as television and game device. It is difficult to concentrate on things that we should do when there are devices and distractions luring us into their trap. I think I am a clear example of this because, I procrastinate easily to the point that I have to lock my electronic devices to another room just to shift my focus from entertaining videos to my studies. also, I find myself craving entertainment, joy and enjoyment that I get from internet and tv shows how addictive these devices and distractions are.

Second, there are wide selections of self enjoyment activities in modern times than ever before in human history. If we go outside and see our surroundings, we could easily spot a karaoke or a night club. Our ancestors never had this opportunity to enjoy themselves; instead they worked on a farm and the most that could do was to play with their peers or family. On the other hand, we have this vast option of things that can occupy us . For instance, I can go out to go to the cinema, an escape room, or even a park, but imagine if i lived in 19th century where entertainment industry was poorly developed, there were nothing someone can do please herself/himself.

To conclude, I am of the conviction that nowadays, people are using too much time to please themselves compared to doing tasks that are essential.