What in your opinion, has been the single most important scientific or technological development of the last fifty years? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

The world has experienced a drastic change in terms of scientific and technological development in the last five decades. If we compare 1970s to now, we could see the difference is immense. In my opinion, one of the main thing influenced this change is the development of the internet. I feel this way several reasons, which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, the internet helped people to communicate with others from distance. In the past, It was difficult to have a proper conversation with your loved ones if they lived far away from you. However, this problem is solved easily when the video call and voice call became prevalent and free. We would not have been able to do this without the use of the internet. My own experience is a compelling example of this. when I was in high school, I went for an exchange program between overseas students and I had to stay away from my home for a year. I had no prior experience in living away from my parents, therefore I grieved a lot. However, I could get in touch with my family and friends through video calls and I was able to finish my program without missing my loved ones.

Secondly, social media became widespread due to the internet and made small business owners a place to advertise their business. It is difficult to make your business well-known and popular, especially when you have a relatively small business. But, thanks to social media platforms, these owners are able to promote their business without spending huge amount of money. I think my sister illustrates this idea perfectly. When she started her business, she had little to no financial freedom due to paying advertisement fees on televisions and billboards. Fast forward to now, she is taking advantage of the social media and the internet to effectively promote her brand and she uses the excessive amount of money used in television before to invest in her company. I believe it benefitted her and fellow business owners as well.

In conclusion, I am of the conviction that the internet is the main development that had significant impact in the last fifty years. his is because it made communications easier and accessible for everyone, also gave a platform to promote their business for business owners.