What, in your opinion, has been the single most important scientific or technological development

of the last fifty years? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Since one year, the world has been faced the most horrible health and economic crisis. Billions of people became victims of the notorious coronavirus and died. Others suffer from severe respiratory illnesses and are in ICU hoping for their lives. Almost everyone have left jobless perhaps aside from doctors, nurses and grocery staff due to the imposed lock down in numerous countries which is a way to prevent spreading the virus. Newly, it has been announced that giant company called Pfizer discovered a vaccine to fight with the virus. I firmly believe that has been the essential development and I will explain why in the following essay.

First and foremost, many lives will be saved especially for those who are vulnerable with weak immune systems. When a person is inoculated with a vaccine, he allows the virus to enter his body. In this way the organism build up antibodies against the virus, hence a person won't get sick. No one can deny that there are numerous opponents that are skeptics about how the vaccine works. Even some went far beyond by asserting that the invention made by Pfizer is genetic and technological engineering that might contain microchip which is going to back up for controlling people or change human's DNA. However, these conspiracy theories are left in debate without accurate evidences and some developed countries undertook vaccination in order to improve elderly' life expectancy. It has been made many stages of experiments safeguarded until they introduce it to the humankind.

Furthermore, that breakthrough is going to help the global economy to step back on feet. This will enable many workers to return at all industrial sectors anew. The predicament will no longer halter the life pace routine to anyone. As a result the economy will be rejuvenated and people will not worry how to put down deadlines. For example, I was working on a river cruise and 3 months after the declared shutdown I was on furlough. It was extremely arduous to me, because I had many expenditures. However, I made it work somehow and now I unquenchable wait for my next embarkation on a ship in the near future. If the vaccine hadn't been discovered, the world would have afflicted more.

In a nutshell, with the help of scientists and molecular biology we will get out form the worst pandemic the contemporary humankind knows. Elderly lives won't be at stake anymore and tons of corporations, factories will turn back into the business.