TPO 45

There is lots of important decisions that young people should take in their life, to determine their future career, life style or selection of their spouse. In past mostly parents decided for youngsters, however these days youngsters have become mostly independant, and started to make their own decisions. In my view the new generation of young people better on making decisions than the prevoius generation. Following I will explore reasons of my belief.

To begin with, modern youngsters have access to lots of knowledge, which makes them ready for making informed decisions. Nowadays mostly people are educated, and also have access to different media to even learn more. Regarding this, in time of making decisions they can easily refer to the vast amount of knowledge available, and by considering all aspects, make the best decision possible. My own experience demonstrates this reality. For instance, last year I wanted to purchase a house for the first time in my life. To decide about where is the best place for my new house I started googling about different niegberhoods all around the city. At the same time, I just real state websites for prices and other information like price changes in an area and risk probability of an investment in each area. Meanwhile, I also checked facebook for information about people in the nighberhoods and its' general culture. Finally, by comulating all this data, I was able to have the best possible purchase. A few years ago this was not possible, and young people like me had to rely on their parents to help them with their experience, for this kind of decisions. This example clearly shows how young people, despite their limited experience, can make better decisions than their previous generations.

Secondly, compared to the past, children have grown to be more aware about their surroundings, and this greatly assists them in making wise decisions. When you look around you see that children these days are bombarded with different kinds of information, on a great variety of topics. While growing up, all this exposure to knowledge makes them wiser than any other past generations. This new generation are young, but have experienced more than most elders. For instance, lets consider junior university students. In an study in Tehran university it is shown than more than 80 percent of university entrees in the past 3 years had a very detailed information about their selected major, and also university. They all had selected their study path, and its' leading career path, with wide open eyes. The same study at the year 2000 showed that only 35 percent of university entrees of year 2000 new what exactly their selected major was about. All this shows that today make more informed decisions.

In summary, I think young people today make better decisions than in the past. Youngsters today have access to lots of knowledge that can be used for making a wise decision. On the other hand, they grow up by being exposed to lots of knowledge, and consequently, grow to be more informed than previous generations of young people.