TPO 45. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Nowadays, regarding the advent of technology and the prevalence using of inventions like the internet, peoples in general and youngsters especially have been more independent than they were in the past. As a result, they are able to make decisions better than they did in the past. There are two main reasons to support my idea.

First and foremost, the advent of the internet and therefore social networks, lead to an expanded connection between people all around the world. In fact, the internet makes it too easy for people to connect to other people who live in other parts of the world and as a result transferring information would be simple. For example, it takes only a few seconds that a young woman in my country read a scientific news which is the result of a scientist's research in the us. this fact, therefore makes her more aware than a young woman in 40 years ago who was forced to stay at home and had no relationship except with her family and neighbors. this significant issue, undoubtedly, is affected her independence to make a decision without my parents' help, since I find myself more knowledgeable than them.

Another prominent reason is that; the increasing level of education in the society enables youngsters to get involved in their society during social activities and their careers more than the past, so it would be possible for them not to be depended on their parents. For example, a young woman who has a master degree and works as an expert in a laboratory or clinic, has a myriad of relationship every day with different clients and colleagues, therefore, huge amounts of experience that enable her to make right decisions without the help of her parents. Even she may help parents if they need any consultant in making a crucially important decision.

To sum up, according to the aforementioned reasons, youngsters make decisions independently rather than they did in the past because they often have a higher level of education and more social activities, and using internet enables them to have more awareness then people in the past.