TPO 45- In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives

Life has changed significantly during the last decades, and these changes have affected all generations. Personally, I am prone to believe that today young people are more able to make decisions about their lives than it was /they did/ some time ago. I hold this opinion since youngsters are more matured now; and they less depend on their parents.

To begin with, young people learn more and know more nowadays. They have all possibilities to better understand the life and faster to learn about important things which may influence them and their lives. This is primarily due to the development of technology, satellite TV and other sources of information. The Internet, in particular, made it possible for teenagers to learn about merely all phenomena from private life to prerequisites of successful career in a very convenient way. For instance, my son is 6 years old, and, without any exaggerations, he knows quite a lot about the profession he is going to choose. It would be hard to imagine that 40 years ago children could have any idea what they were going to do when they became adults. So, the era of the informational technologies contributed to the raise of youngsters' awareness, and, therefore, they are more prone to adopt responsible decisions by themselves.

Additionally, young people nowadays are more independent than they used to be in the past since the educational program itself has changed significantly. Thus, they learn to be responsible for their actions and behavior starting from primary schools to universities. Moreover, nowadays educational institutions have special courses that are designed with the aim of teaching students to be independent. For example, in the university where I study there are classes dedicated, in particular, to the issues of making correct decisions. I have participated on those lessons and learned the principles of decision making process, namely, how not to be mistaken while making important decisions. Consequently, youngsters are better prepared today for making decisions on their own.

To sum up briefly, life today is not easier than it was some decades ago. However, young people seem to be better prepared for the difficulties they encounter with and may make decisions by themselves because of the wider availability of necessary for decision making information, and because the level of educational services has increased in our era.