TPO 46

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

a Question that we might ask ourselves in the age of stardom is "are the opinions of celebrities more important to younger people than older people"? One can argue that that this statement holds absolutely true in the age of social media. In order to get our head around this issue, we need to analyze it from three different angles: the Social spectrum, the Economic spectrum and the Political spectrum.

First and foremost, most well-known celebrities have a massive following on a wide variety of social media accounts, by taking online analytics into account, younger people make up a significant percentage of their followers. The typical content of these accounts are opinion pieces and personal information and it can be inferred that this sort of information is quite relevant in the eyes of most youngsters which make up the bulk of the online audience.

Second, celebrities can be seen as symbols of wealth and power. They can be idols to those who strive to follow in their footsteps. Often times we can see young fans swarming movie premieres and award show red-carpets just to meet their celebrity idols or see them from afar. in Addition, celebrities that have the star-power to bring people to theatres and shows can determine whether a product is a success or failure. Thereby they leverage a significant economic advantage. Older people in retrospect, show much less enthusiasm towards these products and they are at a point in their life where they don't see a need to idolize one person.

Third, celebrities can be often seen making political statements. This can be seen as tool to create controversy and it results in people of certain beliefs flocking to their direction. Celebrities have the reach and presence to make their opinions known and widespread and as many of their followers are youngsters, they can establish rapport with them by adhering to what is generally preferred by their main audience. This rapport will result in greater fanaticism by their fans and increases the extent to which their opinions are deemed important by their fan-base.

Now that we have analyzed and understood the three main ways celebrities can affect younger people and how those ways are irrelevant to older people, we can surmise that opinions of celebrities are logically more important to younger people.