TPO43

Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Other believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork, which of the two approaches do you prefer?

Spending time with your loved ones in an age where the importance of socializing and face to face communication is diminishing can be a very important thing to do. However, we should also ponder how deep our connections go and whether they are weak and unstable or strong and deeply rooted.

I firmly believe that continued exposure to communication through using leisure time for doing casual activities with children would be in the long run, more beneficial to society as a whole.

First off, helping children with their schoolwork might prove to be detrimental to their development if it is done too much. I believe that in order for somone to learn how to deal with their problems, they need to work on solving it either alone or with the help of their peers. Ergo, should a parent insist of helping their children with their schoolwork all the time, they won't develop good problem solving skills. However, this doesn't mean that parents should neglect their children when they require assistance. For example if a school related task is proving too daunting or difficult, parents should offer partial assistance. On the other hand, providing good casual time for children is a great mood booster and performance enhancer, and will result in them performing better at school.

Moreover, parents can develop a better understanding of their children through the activity of playing games with them. They can become more acquainted with the complexities of their psychology and learn to understand them better. Take a Football player for example. Through playing Football with his or her children, a Football player might learn that their child is completely uninterested in football. Therefore he will learn that he should be making life descisions that wouldn't force his child to follow in his footsteps.

Finally, playing social games in leisure time can help children develop strong mental and communication skills. For example, playing games like Charades can help children develop memory, pattern recognition and abstract thinking skills more efficiently than compared to what they learn in elementary school.

In summation, the continued development of a deep mutual bond between a parent and their child is more integral to the healthy development and growth of future generations. Therefore for the reasons mentioned above, I believe that parents should spend their free time playing games and sports with their children and developing these bonds.