TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Agreement or disagreement with the mentioned statement needs a comprehensive study of the human characteristics. The psychologists have surveyed the human tendency for gathering information from their surroundings. They have argued that the human kind wants to inform about the world and the corresponding news. As far as I’m concerned, I think that it is really important for us to know about events happening around the world even they cannot affect our lives. Following paragraphs will aptly elucidate my perspective through three outstanding reasons.

First of all, as mentioned above we have an intrinsic tendency to know their surrounding events. As the technology has progressed more than previous centuries, our surrounding has extended throughout the world. Mass media helps us to inform about the events happened afar. For instance, the messenger programs such as Telegram enable us to connect with the distance countries in a second. So the intrinsic tendency in combination with the today technology aids the people to be updated every second.

Equally important, we can use the result of the events in their life. Each of them has a huge amount of information which can help us in our decision making. Needless to say, that the events build the history of the earth and history is the best teacher for the human kind over time. By the way of example, the forest fires in California are informed us to protect the forests in Iran. In conclusion, the global warming and its results don’t relate only to a part of the world, it can be spread everywhere and we cannot be inviolable.

Last but not least is that we can refer to the global news in our debates. Not only the news can help us to preserve our resources, but they can also improve our knowledge. In my personal experience, during the parties or the daily conversations, I usually use the news to convince the peoples with my viewpoints. For example, in one of the conferences which I had participated in, I referred to the day of without car in Paris to illustrate my notions of the Tehran air pollution. In conclusion, we can use the news from around the world to promote our speeches or conversations.

In brief, with the aforementioned reasons, I can adopt a firm position that the events which are occurred around the world are so important for us, even if they don’t affect our future. Of course, besides the supporting reasons, there are some drawbacks such as knowing all the news can decline our happiness but they cannot reduce the significance of my decision.