TPO 49

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

From the dawn of civilization, relationship between people of a society has been a pivotal issue. It is paramount importance that how these relationships are being shaped and also lasting of them is crucial point. Some people are of the opinion that maintaining friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for enjoying life. While, other people agree with this idea that making many new friends easily is the ability to make each person happy. I firmly agree with the latter view. The following paragraphs will aptly vindicate my point of view.

The most prominent point to be mentioned is that making good friends takes a lot of time. In fact, to be familiar with new people is a crucial issue that depends on a myriad of factors. All the characteristic of a person cannot be determined in a short period of time. It is better to spend more time to apt a small group of people as friends instead of wasting time to search for a nice and trustful person. Taking myself as an example, when I was a high-school student, I just tried to find a friend that has some common characteristics and interests. After a short period of time, I became familiar with a nice girl that we are in contact until now.

Furthermore, it is established beyond doubt that the closer the friends are, the more faithful they are. In other words, it is crystal clear that each person needs a partner that can trust easily. They should be able to talk to each other so frankly. Moreover, they should try to have a nice time and be glad when they are altogether. Recent psychological studies at the university of Minnesota revealed that people who try to be friend solely with small groups are more prosperous in the future. In fact, it shows that they have some specific criteria for opting their determined friends. In this way, they can rely on each other and help to be successful. Therefore, ones that achieves his/her goals makes the other prosper too.

In conclusion, based on all the aforementioned into account, I am strongly consus that number of friends should be limited. Not only the organized friendship is somehow time-consuming, but also it leads to a success for both sides. However, in this hectic life, making a desirable friendship takes time, it is recommended to spend more time in selecting them.