TPO-5 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do.

The issue of whether people today spend too much time on their favorite activities rather than doing the tasks they should do aroused much controversy among people with different ages and different perspectives. Definitely, some people if were asked would agree with this statement while others have a negative attitude toward this idea. As I am concerned, I completely agree with the first group’s opinion. In the following paragraph, I will shed light on the argument to support my view.

The first reason to be mentioned is that nowadays, people are completely busy with their work and study. Therefore, they have not too much spare time to spend on their personal enjoyments. In this competitive world, you would not have any choice unless dedicate most of your time to work better and harder to protect your steady job. Companies usually do not hire people for the entire life, they monitor the employee’s task and if the workers do not their duties on time, they easily fire them. Hence, this competition takes a lot of time because you have to try to be a winner of this rivalry.

In approaching this issue, apart from the points stated before, another reason that deserves some words is that today’s world suffers from the economic crisis. Many countries have many economic problems that influence people’s life. People should have two or three jobs to ensure they can provide their children necessities. Sometimes, children also take a part-time job to make money and could pay some of their expenses like the tuition fee, cloth and stuff like that. The economic crisis is serious in third world countries like mine. For instance, in my country parents work up to 10 hours to provide even the basic needs of their family. Children as young as four years old have been forcing to work in street to sell some consumer goods to make a little money. Therefore, they have not time to do their favorite things, they are working to be alive.

By the way of conclusion, based on the arguments above, I am of the opinion, people nowadays have not enough time to do whatever they want, and the competitive world and crisis economic make them do the things they should do.