Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue of whether sports and social activities should receive the same amount of budget as classes and libraries aroused much controversy among people of different ages and different perspectives. Definitely, some people if were asked would agree with the statement that sports and social activities are as important as classes and libraries and they should be given the same amount of financial support while others have a negative attitude toward this viewpoint. As far as I am concerned, after taking various factors into consideration, I am in agreement with the former group viewpoint. In the following paragraph, I will shed light on the arguments to support my view.

The first point to be mentioned is that participating in sports is beneficial for student’s health. Students spend up to 8 hours of each day at school that means they spend most of their time in the classes and seat on the chair. Many of researches proved that youngsters who are usually students suffer from obesity due to their sedentary lifestyle. As a result, they are more susceptible to chronic diseases like diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, and blood pressure. Therefore, the university should consider this issue when devoting the budget to provide students updated and new facilities for exercising. With this way, they encourage more students to engage in a great variety of physical activity based on their taste.

In approaching this issue, apart from the point that stated before, another reason that deserves some words is that a purpose of educating is not just teaching students theoretical and practical lessons, but also university should prepare students for their future life. After graduation, they have to enter the society and they need a lot of skills to be a successful person in this hectic and competitive world. You know, just high GPA could not help you to distinguish yourself at work interview to get the job, as many employers are looking for the employees with good social skills like communication skills and the ones who could work as a team member. Hence, the university could allocate a good budget for a variety of workshops to improve student’s social skills.

By the way of conclusion, based on the arguments above, I am of the opinion, the university should devote the same financial support for sports and social activities to encourage students to do exercise and also by improving their social skills prepare them for future life.