TPO£Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Human is a sociable person and needs to interact with his other counterparts. This characteristic helps him to make a friend. Definitely, some people if were asked would agree with the statement that we should keep our old friend instead of making new friends while others have a negative attitude. As I am concerned, I completely agree with this opinion. In the following paragraph, I will shed light on arguments to support my view.

The first point to be mentioned is that understanding people’s personality takes a long time. If you want to make a new friend you have to waste a lot of time and energy and a new person might not be a real friend. While old friend is who that you are familiar with almost all of her features and definitely, you are the same in the way of thinking and interests. Hence, maintaining your relationship with an old friend is really worthwhile. For example, I have a friend that we have been a close friend since high school. We are very similar together, we attract to the same things, we like the same sports, we share our sadness and happiness together and help each other in any condition and I never want to lose her for any price.

The second reason that deserves some words is those old friends are reliable persons. You know each other for a long time and a mutual trust has formed between you. Therefore, every time, one has problems she can depend on her friend because she is sure her old friend help her without judging or gossiping about her. In contrast, if you share your problem with a new friend, she might not keep your secret and problem and create a lot of trouble for you. Back to the previous example, every time I confront an unforeseen situation and need urgent help my friend gives me some useful and practical pieces of advice that are often time beneficial. Also, I trust her with my secret. During the 12 years period of our friendship, she approves me her reliability and trustworthy.

By the way of conclusion, base on the argument above, I am of the opinion that we have to try to keep our relationship with our old friend rather than making new friends because understanding people’s personality and features take a long time and we might not find our interesting friend, also, old friends are reliable persons and we can trust them in any condition.