TPO 52 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

On the whole, it is of a little doubt, if any, societies' expectation is an issue of great importance and consideration. The rules forming that expectation can affect both our quality of life and the level of performance in daily tasks. Consequently, the relationship between these rules and young people has priority. In this regard, today, some people wonder whether the rules the societies expect young people to obey are too rigid. I disagree with the provided statement and believe young people are not strained by rules. In the ensuing lines, I will provide two reasons for the collaboration with this thesis.

A first idea worthy of consideration is that in the modern era, the number of organizations defending human rights, including youth, increased significantly. Simple surfing on the internet indicates that there are several associations in every society that defend a variety of human rights such as homosexual rights. Both governmental and independent organizations try to provide democracy for every group of society such as the young generation. If rules are established against young people right, it will immediately face a lot of controversies. For example, imagine a young man wanted to found an office to start working as a professional. Therefore, he has to attain some approval from several departments of government. If there might be an irrational restricting rule, he can readily post on Twitter or Instagram and inform his circle of friends. Gradually, with sharing the post, mentioned associations become aware and start to argue with that rule in news. As a result, the rule will eliminate and the young man can continue establishing his office. This indicates that in the modern era, young people have a simple way against rules which restrict them.

The second noticeable reason is that today, by expanding access to information, the young generation have more option in doing stuff, hence young people can treat freely rather than in past years. Today is a world of diversity and there is no one fixed path for achieving goals. In other words, each young individual is unique due to his or her gender, sexual orientation, socio-economic status, age, physical abilities, religious beliefs, political beliefs, or other ideologies. Therefore, the more diversity in their way of thinking, the fewer rules to expect them to obey. My opinion on this matter has profoundly influenced by my own experience. When I was a sophomore student, I was working on an architectural project. For finishing that, I needed to access an ancient building plan. I remember, due to restricting rules for photography from that building, I should pass a long process to gain approval for taking photos. However, I choose a different way, I used the google map as an alternative solution. Finally, I got all information I needed without any trouble. This clearly shows that in the modern era, young people can’t be limited.

By and large, based on the aforementioned arguments, I think the rules that societies today expect young people to follow are not too rigid due to the availability of organizations defending human rights and diversity of option in doing stuff.