TPO 53 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

it is critically important that governments choose the best way to invest. In my opinion, I believe that governments should spend much more money the internet access rather than public transportation. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I explore in the following essay.

To begin with, spending money on internet access is more effective than on public transportation. To be more specific, these days, using the internet enables people to advance and improve every field of life. thanks to the development of the internet, many people can do many things without going to work or school. my personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I first moved to Istanbul, I was using the subway to commute and I was on the road for about two hours every single day. my company executives decided to home-office all company employees this year. my colleagues and I are extremely pleased with in this case because we can do most of our work from home without going to work. Now, we have two extra hours to play sports or spend time with our families instead of using public transit. I believe that this situation will eventually reduce reliance on public transport in the future. If the government did not provide the necessary infrastructure, we would not be able to benefit from these opportunities.

Furthermore, states could revenue much more than public transport by supporting internet access and could create huge GDP. Today, most of the company is increasingly selling their products through online websites, which enables to sell in their goods overseas. amazon, where I shop frequently, is a compelling example of this. Even though I live in Turkey, I can easily buy a product that is not in my country from the other side of the world thanks to amazon. Therefore, as the amazon company reaches many customers around the world, the company's profits are increasing regularly every year. this situation means more taxes for the government, it generates more income and contributes significantly to the welfare of its country. In addition, Undoubtedly, with the increase in events such as e-learning and home-office, people will use public transportation less than in past. Thus, global warming, which is one of the most important problems of our age, will decrease.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the government's improvements of the internet infrastructures are myriad benefits. this is because the internet becomes evident that it will continue to gain popularity in the foreseeable future.