TPO 53 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's modern life, tanks to technological breakthroughs and cutting-edge innovations in every aspect of science, governments’ concern has altered dramatically. In this line of thought, some people are of the opinion that the governments should consider the internet access, since it has lots of merits for each person. In contrast, I personally subscribe to the view that public transport has played a crucial role in the progress of citizens’ life. In the following paragraphs, my reasons will be elaborated on this issue in more detail.

To begin with, it is no secret to the fact that all the residents tend to use public transport in their routines; that is why people need it more than the internet access. generally speaking, most of individuals at least one time use public transport; however, many people do not rely on the internet. For example, old generations tend to have a common life, without utilize any high-tech devices requiring the internet. Moreover, they are usually use public transport such as bus and train because they cannot drive cars. As a case in point my grandfather is 90 years old. Neither can he drive, nor has he any smart phone. Therefore, spending money to support public transport seems to be necessary for a variety of people.

Another reason is that with improvement of public transportation, people encounter welfare and confortable life. In fact, it is undeniable that in large cities, people have not to use their personal vehicles because city becomes too crowded. In this circumstance, the government should consider providing better transportation rather than access to the internet. Apart from that, the more public transports people readily access, the less negative consequences the government face with. To put it in other words, people expect their society possess a clean and healthy air, with this, people can experience an easy and comfortable life. Specifically, these facilities help to provide basic demands for citizens. with fostering public transport, the government heed to the essential needs of people. Thus, the drawbacks of living in big cities would be reduced, which seems a vital factor for every society.

Drawing upon the reasons that I mentioned above, although there are several exceptions excluded from the general rule, I believe that improving public transport is much more salient than access to the internet. Not only does a wide range of citizens use public transport in comparison with the internet, but also it paves the way for the government to provide facilities for residents’ welfare.