TPO 54- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

With the continuous development of society, arts and athletics have been playing two significant roles in residents' daily life. There are questions as to whether the government should spend more money on arts or sports, some individuals support the view of spending more money on arts than on athletics. As far as I am concerned, I think athletics deserves more government funding than the arts. To substantiate my point, two reasons are being explored in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, distributing more funds to sports such as state-sponsored Olympic teams or games benefits the economic developments and international reputation of a country. To be more specific, more nations are now willing to acquire the right to hold the Olympic Games. In order to hold the Olympic Games successfully, their governments have to invest in building the stadiums, training the coaches as well as advertising their advantages to hold the contests. After a large deal of preparation and publicity, numerous wonderful sport events would attract significant amount of tourists to come to watch those excellent competitions or just take a trip in Olympic cities. Under this circumstance, a host of visitors would pay for the tickets to watch the matches, buy some local souvenirs and travel to renowned places in the country so that they would increase the local economic benefits greater. Besides, if the state could host an unparalleled game combined with distinctive elements, their international popularity and influence would get improved because the Olympic Games brought a profound impression to audiences all over the world. Therefore, spending more money in support of athletics is beneficial to the economy and a nation’s international influence.

What is more, allocating more funds to sports would help strengthen the physical fitness of the whole nation. If a government disburses a lot of expenditures to build new stadiums and facilities that are pretty convenient for citizens to use, both adults and children would be encouraged to exercise. By regularly using these government-built fitness machines, either the body or the spirit of the people have got much relaxation from daily pressures of the occupation or study. In this case, individuals would acquire a better mental state to commit to their careers so that they would achieve a great deal of accomplishments and contribute more to the progress of the community eventually. Hence, the governments should spend more money on physical exercises, both for the health of the residents and the development of the state.

Finally, sports is more popular than arts and therefore deserves more funding. Art such as painting and sculpture is often very abstract and difficult to understand for the ordinary people. Only some people with professional knowledge and interests would appreciate art. On the contrary, sports are pretty common in residents’ life. Almost everyone takes part in various sports activities such as basketball or swimming to keep body and mental health. As a result, governments should spend more money on sports than the arts because athletics could bring benefits to more people.

To sum up, from what has been discussed above, we may reach the conclusion that the governments are supposed to spend more money to support athletics than the arts because it could drive economic growth to some extent and enhance people's physical fitness, after all,what is good for mankind is eternal.