do you agree or disagree with the following statement

it's better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject

use reasons and examples to support your answer

It is universally acknowledged that we are living in a rapidly advancing era. Our society needs lots of talents who have a background in many different subjects. Under such an environment, it tends to be that students with only one specific subject are no longer in favor when they are trying to find a job. Some people hold the point that people who have broad knowledge of many academic subjects are likely to succeed in the future. In my opinion, I totally agree with this idea.

First of all, students may find the interesting subjects and have lots of choices after they graduate from school through broad knowledge in many academic subjects. When people are at high school, they are supposed to learn knowledge from many subjects such as math, physics, chemistry, history, music and so on. By learning so many subjects, they gradually discover that the subjects they are really like and are good at, and the subjects they are not interested in and cannot get high grades. Through the basic knowledge of so many subjects, they gradually find majors they want to purse in the future. However, if people only specialize in one specific subject which is not of particular attract to them or which is not pretty promising in the society, they would find it hard to start studying other subjects because they do not know much about them. Therefore, individuals may have more options about future personal development according to their broad knowledge of many academic subjects than just specialize one area.

What is more, the society needs more interdisciplinary talents, instead of only knowing one specific subject. A position may contain many academic subjects that required for the applicants. For example, a teacher not only needs to know the subject he is teaching, but also the psychology because he should be able to know the students' psychological activities, and from another aspect he also needs the management knowledge since he has to manage the whole class or school. In this case, people who have broad knowledge of many academic subjects are more likely to find suitable jobs and make good progress in the society. As to those who merely study one subject, they would be lack of competitiveness in finding jobs comparing with those who have plenty of different kinds of academic subjects. Hence, the development of society needs more people who know the various knowledge of subjects, this is the direction that people should strive for.

To sum up, I believe that people who possess wide knowledge of many subjects are prone to have better development and find a satisfactory job in this fierce society.