TPO 7 (d3)

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the learning field is getting more and more complicated due to the different ways people are trying to make their learning experience easier. The common learning path that we were teaching is not useful anymore and some individuals prefered other ways to learn. Some of them like to learn the facts, others like to know ideas or concepts that will help them to find the facts by themselves from the roots of every topic. I identify with the second group of people for two reasons.

First, Every single fact happens because a series of events leads to a situation where after linking all the pieces together, the fact or law pops up. Obviously it is great to know the answer to a question just because you memorize it but, on the other hand, your knowledge ends there and your potential to develop a new adaptable and critical mind-set will be limited.

Second, as a personal experience, I had a teacher when I was at school, who was one of the best ones I ever had. I was happy every day to be at her class just because every single topic, picture or fact was really easy to understand and make it yours. He had in my opinion the right method to teach. He explained the concepts and ideas first and he introduced the topic, situations or events after we assimilated the basis properly. If I hadn't had that teacher, probably I would never have been so interested in geography. Although I wasn’t a good student he made me be a better one because I understood the big picture from the foundation.

To summarize, have clear concepts and ideas will help you to understand different situations because you can intertwine your knowledge in several fields or areas and become with the right answer and keep growing and developing your brain.