TPO22-Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom (not mine)

In the past few year, the issue of whether or not teachers should share their social and political views with their students in the classrooms has received a great deal of attention from teachers and educational experts. Although some may say that teachers could help students to better understand the social and political situation of their country by making their points of view known to the students; I as the same as many others, believe that due to the different effects of this discussions on students, teachers should not talk about them in their classes.

First of all, an important reason why teachers should not share their social and political beliefs with their students is that it may have effects on student’s attitude toward their teacher. Most of the student especially in high schools, collage and universities have their own ideas about social and political issues, and some of them may be in the opposite view with their teachers. So, talking about social and political beliefs in the classes may contribute to argument between teachers and students, or have effect on the student’s attitude toward their teacher. Many experts mention that these kins of problems may influence students' education badly.

Another reason for this idea is that talking about political and social phenomena in the class may waste student’s time. Social and political issues should just be contributed with students in the classes of these majors. For example, math and biology teachers should not talk about them in their classes. Furthermore, if social and political issues was in the curriculum of any classes, the teacher should just teach fundamental aspects and, he or she must not support or reject any particular point of view.

Finally, it is occasionally said that teachers should not make their beliefs known to their students because students may have unfair judgment about that issue. When teachers advocate a specific point of view about social or political problems in their classes, as they are the main speaker in the class, and there is not anybody to talk in opposite of them, their opinion would look perfect. Thus, students may judge unfairly about these problems.

In conclusion, considering the ideas presented in the paragraphs above, I personally believe that teachers should not make their social or political beliefs known to their students in the classroom chiefly due to psychological and political reasons.