TPO24

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Growing up is a long process and has major milestones. Most crucial changes occurs when teenager life is getting over, and adult life begins. Teens have to learn many things to adapt to this change and gain new skills to be an adult. Their parents should educate them properly and support them to get the necessary daily life abilities so they can encourage them to take a part-time job for these needs because of some compelling reasons.

First of all, taking a part-time job raise child’s awareness about responsibilities. Young people can learn how to do a task as instructed and see the results of their behaviors or doings if they take a role in a job. Besides that, they could notice their mistakes when doing a job and avoid them for the next time. For example, when I was a teenager, I worked part-time in bicycle repair work. I didn’t pay attention enough, I didn’t repair the bicycle very well once. Unfortunately, my mistake made the bicycle owner had an accident, and I felt terrible. I learned responsibilities with this sadly experience.

Second, children in the new generation do not know the value of money and waste their money and do not care about it all. However, earning money is not easy as they think. To gain money requires time and effort; if children take a part-time job, it can provide them to learn the value of the money they have. For instance, my daughter was spending her money without thinking, but after being employed in a clothes shop, her spending behaviors affected positively, and she began to invest.

Furthermore, working teaches the children how to communicate with people in a correct manner. A part in a job requires meet society. I observed my students at the end of their working experience they had better social skills.

Therefore, I agree that one of the best ways parents can help their children prepare for older life is to encourage them to take part-time work due to the reasons I explained by giving the examples of experiences which beneficial in many aspects.