TPO24- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Parents have the most responsibility to teach their children how to live in their future life. In fact, they have to prepare their children by applying different ways to make them strong enough to withstand with tough situations in the future. In this regard, I definitely believe that parents should help their teenage children get ready for their life by letting them work in a part-time job.

To begin with, if children work in young ages, they would be economically independent because they gradually start understanding the value of the money they earned. Therefore, they learn how to save their money for the future and controlling their expenses. This is a great experience for them to realize that budget management in the family is not an unimportant matter and it should be respected by all family members. Take my experience for example, when I was in high school, I wasted my pocket money on buying sport cloths but after working in my father's restaurant as a part-time employee, I realized that I was just wasting my dad's money on nothing and if I were on those days, I would not make the same mistake again.

In addition, working in a part-time job makes young people ready to accept bigger responsibilities because they become responsible for their working place and also understand the importance of being on-time and working in groups as well. Therefore, they can be better fit in their future working life as a trained person. For example, my father was encouraged by his parents to work in their farm to get valuable experience of being on-time and responsible for some little things. After a while, they let him control the entire farm because he just was ready for everything.

Paradoxically, most of the young people have to work hard on their lessons to pass their exams because as science grows, lessons are becoming more difficult for students in order to make them ready for some complex concepts of the university subjects. In this regard, if they work part-time, their grades may be affected by their poor performance and it may result in quitting the school or even in some extreme cases they may be expelled from the school. Therefore, although there are some negative consequences of working part-time for teenage children, this can be solved by just working in the summer season due to having the less effect on their school life.

In conclusion, encouraging young people to take a part-time job has lots of benefits outweighing the drawbacks, so parents should motivate their children to do it, because children become financially independent along with being more responsible in their life.