TPO20- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As people want to earn more money, they always try new and different ways to be successful. They tend to take risks to examine their new attitudes and there is no guarantee for success. However, there are some believe that it is better to rely on your experience and follow what you know well. Therefore, I strongly disagree with this statement that successful people take risks to obtain the success. To hold my opinion there are some reasons stated as below.

To begin with, if you go through your experience and follow the rules and regulations, which have been validated before, your performance would be more productive. Because as long as you do not have any information about the new ways you are taking a risk, trying new things is just like gambling and it would be a path to failure. In this regard, would not it be more logical to take risks on something you think is right? Take my father's experience as a businessman for instance, he is a kind of person who always sets his own rules based on evident and experience he has just heard or learnt. As a result, he has never taken a risk over an unstable situation, so he is still a wise and successful businessman.

In addition, examining new things as long as having potential risks is time-taking because you have to accumulate a huge amount of information relating the way you want to start. In some extreme cases, it may take years to obtain a little positive change to success. Thus, it is beneficial to rely on your own experience to achieve the success in less time.

Paradoxically, according to a saying tells that, “No pain, no gain”, it is impossible to enhance your knowledge or make a huge change in your life if only you take risks. Take some successful people for example, they were ordinary people but they were all risk takers making big inventions and opening new ways for people in their field of study. Because they have been willing to take on the risky challenge that other people would say, “Oh, I’m not sure I want to do that.” In fact, they have taken on a lot of risky roles. They were risky to some people but to them it was a great opportunity allowing them to learn new things and take on a bigger role and a bigger organization.

In conclusion, although there are a few renowned people who have taken new and challenging ways to gain the success in their life, I definitely think that most of the people should follow the way they know well because it is more efficient and the results would be satisfactory. Besides, this way they can save more time to reach to the desired goals.