Do you agree or disagree with the follow statement?

People can learn more from watching television than by reading books.

In the age of digital world, television is the main source for conveying the large amount of information through audio-visual depictions of several concepts. Likewise, it has been used as a popular teaching method since it was invented. Thus, I strongly believe that people can mostly learn by seeing television than reading books.

To begin with, the observational learning is the most effective method for learning new things in less time, because people can understand better whenever they observe things visually. In this direction, television as an observational means of communication can provide better environment in comparison to other methods. Take my experience for instance, I was preparing for GRE exam by myself. There were plenty of different sources, most of which were in written form. Moreover, there was little time left for the exam day, so I was not able to take any classes. However, I got the crucial points by watching some teaching videos to find out how well I could prepare quickly.

In addition, reading books can be somehow a boring activity because it does not contain some special aspects like television programs. This is mainly related to the scientific or theoretical contents of the books. Likewise, while you are reading a book, you need to use your imagination to realize what the author says. However, television can make the learning process much appealing by using the visual illustration. For example, I always feel sleepy when I study a history book. Meanwhile, I am interested into the channels in which historical events are displayed. Therefore, watching television is more enjoyable because of its amusing aspects.

Paradoxically, watching television is not always a useful method for the ones who want to get the profound knowledge. It is not possible to concentrate on important concepts when you are watching television, because there are often ads popping up in the middle of the program where it may distract the attention. Moreover, it is impossible to find advanced contents of different subjects in television. Hence, books still have their essential impact on most of the scholars.

In sum, people can learn more by watching television because they can understand concepts easier by observing, and also seeing television programs is more fascinating. However, the importance of the learning by reading books cannot be ignored easily. This is why I posited the supportive assertion to this subject.