Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“Parents no longer control what their children do; their behavior is more affected by television, movies, and other influences from outside the home.”

These days, parents should protect their children more than before because it seems that the development of the technology has led to a generation gap between parents and their children. This gap may initiate some bad effects on young people’s behavior. Therefore, parents need to observe their children’s activities from some potential influences as stated below.

To begin with, parents try to do their best to provide a convenient life for their children, so they have to work more for higher salaries. By doing so, parents do not have enough time to look after their children as they used to be in the past, so the children may spend all day watching TV. They spend much more time watching movies and series than being with their parents. They are influenced by TV programs because children are always looking for their favorite icons and trying to copy their style and manner. For instance, teenagers sometime watch violent scenes in action movies, and this has negative influences on their minds. They will behave more aggressive with other people and have a tendency to engage in violence. Therefore, this intense exposure to television can have far-reaching effects on minds of the children where some compulsory rules should be set by parents to limit its usage.

Another important influence is that parents often do not understand their children’s need properly. As the technology grows the difference between the new generation and the former one becomes more evident, so finding a common interest is no longer possible for children. In this direction, the same age friends are often much influential on young people. Teenagers feel like they have many things in common with their friends more than with their parents, so they understand and care about what their friends think more than what their parents think. Therefore, many youth people are gradually affected by their friends’ behavior. This fact shows that children should be monitored wisely for their friend selection by their parents.

In sum, although there are lots of strong moral values between parents and their children, parents have no longer any effect on their children’s behavior as much as they did because there are some other factors having more influence over the children. The television programs have tremendous influences over youths’ behavior, besides their friends can have a greater effect as well. Therefore, parents will continue to lose more control over their children as long as their children get more absorbed in modern media and their friends.