Do you agree or disagree?

Parents today are more involved in their children's education than were parents in the past.

Parents always worry about their children's lives and try to involve themselves in solving their difficulties, whether educational issues or personal problems. I think that nowadays parents pay more attention to their children education in comparison to the past, because today's parents are educated themselves and desire to help children have a successful life in future.

First, most parents have academic education and are more educated than were parents in the past. This is mainly because the number of universities and colleges has increased in recent years, and as a result, more human beings are allowed to attend them and increase their knowledge. So, they are more likely to get involved in their children's problems and help them in dealing with them, specifically in their education. For instance, my father is a university professor and my mother is a high school teacher and, unlike their parents who were ordinary workers without any academic experience, both are perfectly knowledgeable about educational issues.

Second, sometimes parents have to interfere in the lives of their children, because they feel that without their aid children would make mistakes in making important decisions. For example, when I wanted to select my major at university, I was keen on electrical engineering, so I decided to choose it. However, my father who is concerned about my future and tries to guide me in an appropriate direction in order to be a successful individual told me that if I chose it I may not find a proper career after graduation, because there are plentiful electrical engineer currently and my country does not need it any more. Consequently, I took his advice and changed my field of study to mechanical engineering and now I work for a big car manufacturing company.

As I have illustrated, I believe that parents today are more involved in their children's education in comparison to the past, since they have enough academic background to help their children in order to make accurate decisions.