Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It was common among the previous generations to continue their parent’s jobs and benefit from what their parents attempted to create. Therefore, they did not have some problems like facing the difficulties of creating or finding a job. However, this cannot be considered for the present generation because there may be some potential problems relating to this assertion that what happens if the children are not interested in their parent’s job or what if there might be some obstacles to continue it. Therefore, I strongly disagree with this statement that children should choose their parent's jobs. To hold my opinion, there are some reasons stated as follow.

To begin with, as technology grows, new jobs are coming to existence and the job market covers more areas than before. Thus, young people have more interesting choices for their future job selection than before. In this direction, they often find their parent’s job boring and old enough to follow. Take my father for instance, my grandparents lived in the countryside and they raised cattle and crops as the job inherited form their ancestors. My father, on the contrary, selected the different career because on those days the trade of the domestic crops in the nation became popular among young people. Therefore, he selected to be a businessman for their own product.

Second, children should be permitted to choose their own interests freely because this helps them grasp to their job and go for deeper knowledge in that field. In fact, this makes them feel highly motivated to set some higher goals in their future working life. Hence, they will attempt more than usual to get to their goals. Take for example some tough jobs like working as an engineer for welding the underwater canals. If the engineer does not have the motivation to pursue its career, it is extremely difficult to withstand with this condition.

Paradoxically, it is somehow difficult for young people to find a job because they may leave their school without having any qualified license or there may be no vacant job position in their field of study, so they may have to stay even for years to get the relevant job. Therefore, in this case, it is better to follow in the footsteps of their parents when choosing a job. Because children who share similar occupations with their parents can at least inherit the experiences of the parents, which would save much time and energy along the way. For example, a businessman can provide his son a shortcut to success by leaving him an already well-run company.

In sum, I think young people should not take their parent’s career because there are more other fascinating jobs available jobs to take, besides, they should follow their interests to willingly follow their career. Following the job of the parents, however, in some cases as mentioned could be useful. Therefore, upon these reasons I posited a supportive idea about this topic.