tpo30

The industrial revolution had a great impact on people`s lives in many aspects containing people`s careers. Before, people used to have individual jobs and usually did not work for another person or company. However, people now are mostly working for companies or factories and thus, they have to come up with a fixed schedule. They are usually two schedules available for people based on the hours they work each day. They can either work five days a week for shorter hours or work only three days a week for long hours. I personally go for the latter schedule since I contend that it is not only more enjoyable, but also more efficient. I am going to elaborate on my opinion in the following paragraphs.

First of all, a three-day job will give one a more flexible program and one will be able to do many extracurricular activities besides his salient job. For instance, one can play some sports, takes a trip and even simply meets with his family in/on his free days and he does not have to worry about his job. It has been proved that people who experience a five-day job are less likely to spend their weekends for entertainment and they tend to just sleep during their vacations instead of some social enjoyable activities. Consequently, their vulnerability to mental diseases such as depression increases greatly.

The second equally important point is that working for three days a week, no matter how many hours one works a day, will give him a sense of freedom and he will not get exhausted of his job any time soon and he will have much greater yield than who works for five days. An experiment was conducted on two groups of workers of the same company, whose difference was the number of days they worked, showed that the ones with less day works(!) a week had much more interest and efficiency compared to the others who worked for five days a week. So the lower the number of days one works, the more efficient he will be.

Last but not the least, working for long hours not only is not a disadvantage but also is a great chance to get focused and productive. It goes without saying that it is better to do a job completely in one try rather than dividing it to many shorter parts. If one wants to do his job in short hours, especially for time-taking jobs, he has to leave his job incomplete until the next day and start it again. It is axiomatic that this procedure will decrease the efficiency by a great amount. In spite of this, one will be able to finish each of his tasks in one day by working for long hours and only quits his job when he makes sure the job is completely done.

To wrap it up, I contend that working for three days a week is far better than working for five days since it makes people not only physically, but also mentally more efficient. I suggest people reconsider their work schedule and make it more convenient by reducing the number of days and increasing the work hours each day. However, the schedule should match the person`s preferences and one can say that he is more comfortable with a five-day schedule.