TPO41 Independent

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of civilization, people have attached great importance to education and teachers thereby have been widely respected. However, with a range of radical changes in society – from the Internet to family education – some argue that teachers nowadays are not receiving as much appreciation as they were before. I agree with the view.

To begin with, teachers’ social status has been weakened. A century ago, teachers were almost certainly among the most educated members of their communities. This meant that they were, to some extent, looked up to because of their learning. Back in the day when schools and colleges was not financially supported by the government, hardly could the majority receive formal education not only due to the expensive tuition fees but also because people needed to work to earn a living at a very young age. Yet more and more people can learn how to read and write and have a broader range of knowledge in art as well as science. For example, it used to require a bachelor’s or even doctor’s degree to be a teacher which only a few elites could get. However, now we can see universities are full of undergraduate and graduate students who want to be expertise in various fields, such as business, engineering, literature etc., and they have no less insight than teachers do. Accordingly, teachers are no longer looked up to because of their education.

Moreover, parents do not truly understand what teachers do in the classroom. Everyone has been to school, and therefore everyone assumes they understand what goes on there – talking as the textbook says, marking papers, giving assignments, etc. It is seemly not difficult for today’s well-educated parents to do the same job. However, we seldom realize that it takes a great amount of time and effort to master the theory and practice of pedagogy. It looks, from outside, as if teaching is an easy job and teachers are not even doing it right. I know many parents who would rather teach their children by themselves than sending them to schools. This is unsurprising since scandals about juvenile crimes, drug abuse, gun violence, bullying and so forth happen almost in every state, leaving a bad impression on parents that school is not an effective place for education. So, as schools are not appreciated by parents, consequently, teachers are not valued by society as a member of schools.

All in all, teachers once had a prominent position in society. But due to the dramatically improving education level and the parents’ stereotype and misunderstanding of their work, they are less valued now.