TPO41

Do you agree or disagree?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Throughout history, education has been one of the important factors in all civilized societies. Genuinely, it determines that how much our society is successful. Although a plethora of people hold the opinion that teachers were more appreciated in the past, others disagree with this point of view and believe that all nations are aware of this importance that teachers play extremely significant roles in the society and value their jobs. I, to a great extent, hold the former viewpoint. Among countless reasons, which can vindicate my point of view, I will mention the two most conspicuous ones through the following paragraphs.

The first reason that juts out of my mind is about the fact that teachers would have received more money in the past. Indeed, their salaries were the same of other careers, such as architectures, engineers and so forth. In the contrary, their wages are lower than the average in the present time, and they have to work very hard to earn their livings. This means that societies and above of all governments do not pay any attention on them. In such a situation, people feel that teachers are not effective in the society and ignore their paramount role.

The second and equally proof for this assertion is about this importance that a grate hosts of individuals were illiterate, and believed that in order to make their lives better, the presence of educators in the society is essential. However, by technology development human beings’ access to a hoard of information through the internet, social networks and many other similar means, has improved. Since most of people are more knowledgeable than the past, they deny the importance of education as well as educators. For instance, the noteworthy statistics revealed by a recently conducted research in the Massachusetts Institute of Technology shown that over 90 percent of high school students are not willing to attend their classes. In this survey theses students prefer to study their lessons by themselves and take part in online courses since they believe that in this way, not only can they enhance their information effectively but also this way of study is far more convenient. Consequently, learners do not appreciate teachers more than the past.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments, we may draw the conclusion that nowadays teachers are not acknowledged as much as they were in the past. This contention is due to the fact that not only are their social levels get worse but also the student are not interested to be taught by teachers.