• Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

• Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

In all civilized societies, all human beings want to be happy and satisfied since these are very crucial factors in people’s lives. Although a plethora of people hold the opinion that nowadays persons are happier than they were in the past, others disagree with this point of view and believe that in the past individuals were happier. Although a certain conclusion cannot be made, I, to a great extent, hold the former viewpoint. Among countless reasons, which can vindicate my point of view, I will mention the two most conspicuous ones through the following paragraphs.

The first reason that juts out of my mind easily at the first moment of thinking about this issue is the fact that technology and science have facilitated people’s lives. In other words, they help individuals to accomplish their daily activities easier than the past. For instance, computer has eased our communications and tasks. People can talk with each other through the internet, and by using a computer whenever they want or like, but in the past, they had to wright letters by hands, and sent it, which was really difficult and time consuming. Consequently, the more facilities become available, the more individuals will pleasure their lives.

The second and equally exquisite proof for this assertion is about this importance that in the present time, people work less than before. Therefore, they have more free time that can spend with their family, and carry out their favorite activities. In this way, they are able to relieve their stress, that lead people to a healthier lifestyle. Conversely, people had very difficult lives in the past. They had to work hard since they could not earn their livings. Hence, their spare time was very short, and they could not spend a lot of time on their hobbies. To give a tangible example, almost people were farmer in the past, and they had to work all day long. It is clearly evident that, at the end of each day, they were very tired, and had no time to spend on enjoyable activities.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments, we may draw the conclusion that nowadays people are happier than the past. This contention is due to the fact that not only has technology become more advanced but also people have more leisure time.