TPO42

There is no doubt that always teachers have had a substantiate role in every society. A controversial question which arises here is whether or not teachers were more appreciated in the past than nowadays. Some people may hold the idea that nowadays, community admires teachers more than before, while I am of the opinion that teachers appreciated more in the former times. There are numerous grounds, two of which I will explore in what follows.

The first noteworthy point which bears in mind is that nowadays students have free access to the internet and lots of comprehensive books. Therefore, they search whatever they want on the internet instead of asking their questions from their teachers. As a consequence, most students think that they can solve their problems readily without help of their teachers. Hence, they do not admire their teachers as much as students in the past. It is no secret that in the past students did not have access to the internet or lots of resources for getting extra information about a subject. Accordingly, they could not solve their problems on their own, so they needed their teacher's help. Undoubtedly, when students were very dependent on the knowledge of their teachers, they appreciated them more. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Back in college, I had a class with a well-known professor who won several awards in his field of study. While he was a very famous professor, students who studied intensively before the class through different websites, always underestimate the points that the professor mentioned in the class. These students thought that because of their shallow knowledge, they could underrate a well-rounded professor. I believe that this example shows how easy students could be offensive about their teachers nowadays.

The second crucial point which deserves some words here is that in the contemporary world, the number of teachers has increased incredibly. As a result, the government has to allocate less money and facilities to each of them. In contrast, in olden days, the numbers of teachers were limited because the number of educated individuals in the past was less than now. Since the presence of few teachers, schools pay a lot more money and provided numerous facilities for each one of their teachers. Thus, because of the decrease in salary which teachers get, they think that society admires them less than before. For instance, my mother has been a teacher for 20 years. In the past she took a high salary, but now because of the number of new teachers their salary significantly has decreased.

On the whole, based on the points mentioned above, we can conclude that in the past societies more appreciate teachers because in the past not only students were more dependent to their teachers but also their number was less than now.