TPO_43: Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

-Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader

-Say nothing

Almost everyone has experienced being in a situation that has to choose the best way. One of this situation come across when a person attends in a meeting or class and during the speech, he or she understand something wrong in speech content. In this regard, some people can not wait and interrupt the meeting or class and correct the mistake, while others wait until the finishing of class or meeting to talk with lecturer or sometimes they prefer to say nothing. I am of the opinion that we do not have to interrupt the meeting or class and it is better to correct the mistake after finishing speech. I will attempt to address the most discernible reasons below.

First, sometimes the mistake that teachers or meeting leaders do is not really a mistake and it is only our misunderstanding. Most of the time when we come across with a mistake in a class or meeting, it is because of our lack of knowledge and so, we have to wait to be sure about our idea regarding the mistake. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I remember that during my university study I was in similar situation. But in the first time that I recognized a mistake in the speech of a professor, I just interrupted the talking of him and started to explain his mistake. Unfortunately I was wrong and the professor casted doubt my idea. He laughed at me and it was the last time that I interrupted the class to correct a mistake. This example clearly shows that we have to be patient to correct someone's mistake.

As the second reason, I want to point out something which is widely accepted. Majority of people can not tolerate revealing of their mistake in front of people.

I witnessed one of my closest friend in college which was editor of a university magazine. One day during a meeting regarding publishing of last volume of the magazine, one of the students started to say the mistakes that occurred in the prepared magazine. Even though all the mistakes that student mentioned were right, my friend, as the editor, didn't accept them. Because he thought that accepting of mistakes in front of other students will make problem for him. So, this example illustrates that before correction of someone's mistake we have to think about the atmosphere that we are.

In conclusion, it is for all aforementioned reasons, I come to believe that people have to wait the class or meeting is over and then correct the mistake of teacher or meeting leader. In this approach, we will be sure that the teacher will not suffer and also if we are wrong we will not be ashamed.