TPo54- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, managing a country by governments has paramount importance. In this regard, some people believe that governments should spend more money in support of arts, rather than athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Personally, I disagree with this group. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, spending money on athletic events lead to a healthier society. To explain more, by supporting Olympic teams, governments can encourage people of society to do more sports, from primary to advanced ones. On the other hand, these events make youngsters energetic and provide them lots of fun and happiness, so youth can relieve their pressure, stress, and anxiety. Therefore, financing athletic events, not only increases young people's physical health but also their mental and psychological health. Eventually, supporting sports teams, governments have a healthier society, which is the most significant factor in the success of a society. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was 20 years old, our national football team was accepted to play in the international football club due to financial supports by the governments and hard attempts of themselves, so I and all of my friends were very delighted because of that, and played a lot of football games. On the other hand, after our classes, we were going to the gym to do more exercise and made ourselves ready for tomorrow's play. If governments had not supported the team, we would not have done many football playing.

Secondly, supporting athletics by governments leads to economic benefits. To clarify my point, managing a significant sports team, the team owners can make a lot of money by advertisements on the athletes' shirt or even around the playing field. On the other hand, If the team becomes popular, and achieve success in various sport events, lots of investments will be offered to them, which can increase their properties and finally lead to a more rich society, from people to the governments. For instance, in my last example, a lot of companies navigated with the national team in order to advertise on the players' shirts, and that made a huge amount of money for the team and the manufacturers of sport's equipment. If governments had not supported the team, they would not have made this amount of money.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that financial supports on athletics by the government is beneficial. This is because they not only can achieve a healthier society but also acquire economic benefits.