TPO-49 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends.

Friendship has been always an important concept in any individual's life and the most significant parameters in feeling someone's life with happiness. In this regard, this is a question that whether the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people for a long time or the ability to make lots of new friends easily is more effective in someone's happiness. Personally, I believe that maintaining old friendships has paramount importance in being happy in life. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, anyone can find a few numbers of people in the whole world, that are completely matched with them, and can act as their close friends. To explain more, the ability to make few friends and preserve the friendship in this sophisticated world is an important capability that people need to have. To be more specific, fewer friends can help any individual to spend more time with each other and can deepen their relationship. In other words, the fewer friends someone has, the profound connection they have. As a result, these friends are more connected, so they can help each other in problems, and this results in strong happiness. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I have just a few friends, maybe 8 or 10. But they are real friends of mine, and whenever I had problems they were ready to solve that. If I had not made these close friendships with real few friends, I would not have felt happiness in my life.

Secondly, a long term friendship with someone means they spend much time with each other and experience lots of long-lasting happiness. To explain more, friendship is a kind of relationship that will be more precious, when it continues for a long time. In this case, friends have had a lot of opportunities to be together, and experience many different situations with each other, which may lead to happiness. Otherwise, this relation will not continue in long term. For instance, I have a 20-years-old friendship, who is my close friend from when I was in primary school. In these last 20 years, we had many new experiences with each other, from going to luxury cafeterias, cinemas, to studying together for the exams, and all of these experiences were full of laugh and pleasure.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that having the ability to make fewer but constant and durable friendships can feel someone with happiness. This is because not only they can find some friends that are very close to them but also they can spend a long time with them and rely on them that is the most significant factor of happiness.