In twenty years there will be fewer cars than there is today

The car industry has changed very rapidly in the last 10 years. Large car companies have experimented with new efficient cars, electric cars, etc, I personally believe that in the near future there will be more cars than today. I will explain my thesis in the following paragraphs.

First of all, let’s think about our country USA. There are more people every day in each city, some have immigrated from the country, others from far away countries. This new population creates a demand for new and old cars. Moreover, public transport still very much the same as it was 10 years ago. Few new routes and the fleet of buses also the same as before. Consequently, whether we like it or now, in the USA we need to buy cars to commute to work, study, or travel for pleasure. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I moved here from Colombia, in 2007, I was determined to keep using public transport just like I did back home. Despite my good intentions, soon, I found that it was too much of a hassle. Within the first three months, I end up buying my first car. My wife followed not long after I bought my first auto. In addition, my son is now a sophomore in high school and is already asking for his car.

The way I see it, now we are a that has been 12 years in the country and soon we will have three cars in the family.

Second, let’s think about the world. In general, cars are getting cheaper and more affordable worldwide. Companies are producing more economic cars in order for the rising middle class to have the joy to own a car. The emerging middle class of developing countries, like Colombia, my home country, find themselves buying cars as an alternative way of transportation. For instance, back home, public transportation is efficient. but every day it is more uncomfortable to use it. It is getting very crowded. Consequently, people are choosing to buy cars because it is more comfortable.

By way of conclusion, in the near future, no matter if the cars are going to be electric, fuel-efficient or hybrids. We will have a lot more cars than we have today.