In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Humans in 21th century are more dependent on technology, for instance, cars, than ever. Cars have been increasing, since it was invented, but some believe that there will be fewer cars in twenty years. I do not agree with this idea due to the fact that population of world is increasing, people are moving to urban areas to find better financial opportunities, and our time is becoming more valuable.

The first point I want to discuss is population. While we have to look at this problem as a local problem, if we look at generally, we will see that the population of the world is increasing, mainly because of the governments which do not have regulations over the birth rates. Therefore, also the number of cars is increasing.

Secondly, I want to mention people who are migrating from rural areas. Because cities are huge source of money, there are a lot of people who wants to live in cities. But it also creates another problem: fast transportation. While you can walk to everywhere in villages, people extremely need cars to get somewhere quickly, which lowers the price of the cars due to high demand. This makes cars affordable which causes also increase in number of cars.

The final point is our time. Nowadays people are rushing to almost everywhere, that is why time is becoming more precious than that of few decades ago. For instance, if use car to go home from my workplace, I will have more time to rest and maybe work. Another example, once I had to meet with my friends, and decided to get meeting place by foot, but unfortunately, I had forgotten that I had to meet. First, I thought that I did not have enough time to prepare, but, instead, I came up with this idea: going there with car. I spent almost all of the time required to go to there by foot to prepare.

To sum up, I have to mention that it is very problematic issue, therefore governments should consider this. There may be a lot of resolutions for this. For instance, Luxembourg made public transportation free, which, I think, will significantly decrease the number of cars in use.