In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today?

Nowadays, the emission of gases is one of the big issues around the world which deteriorates our nature, such as animals’ habitats and the ozone layer. Of these problems, car emissions greatly contribute to global warming, which will devastate the ozone layer and biodiversity in the future. However, a car is necessary in this era because a large number of people use cars in order to prevent crowded trains, and it is easy to go to a certain place. Therefore, decreasing cars in our society is impossible in twenty years. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, a car makes our lives more convenient and it is necessary for our lives without driving a car. Because many people nowadays use their cars every day to go to work or for fun. To give my example, last year, I traveled to Japan’s islands, which are far from Tokyo and there is no train. Therefore, we had to rent a car for four days. If I had a driver's license, my trip would be boring, I assert. Tokyo has a large number of stations and we can ride trains at a precise time. When it comes to going somewhere where it is not convenient in terms of moving, we need to drive a long way.

Secondly, electric cars are the most viable solution to reduce the large amount of harmful gases that humans emit every day. Many companies sell electric cars, but it is still not propagated because charging space is limited in most towns. If this space is constructed, we will buy electric cars because they are cheaper than ones that use gasoline and are environmentally friendly. However, constructing enough charging space in twenty years is difficult even today. Hence, there are many environmental problems and we need to prioritize these issues. Therefore, setting up a charging site takes more than twenty years.

On final note, when it comes to going to a certain place, we need a car or a means of travel. Without a car, we can not enjoy ourselves if there is no transportation except for cars. In addition, electric cars have been focused on by many people, but it takes a large amount of time and the cost is tremendous, hence many people use trains or buses. Therefore, I do not think we will be able to reduce cars in our society in twenty years.