At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

some people argue that classes and libraries are more important than sports and social activities and should be given more financial support. However, I think that sports and social activities should be given as much importance and financial support as classes and libraries at universities and collages. I will support my point of view with three reasons.

Firstly, in the era of competition, extracurricular activities is given much importance and it is surely not something that can be neglected. For example, while hiring, if two candidates apply with similar academics, the one with more extracurricular activities will be hired with no doubt. if one lacks this quality, he or she will be considered as a weak candidate. that is why it is important to give enough attention to improve co-curricular activities.

Secondly, sports and social activities add real life skills to the students which is not possible in classrooms or libraries. For instance, a student can learn leadership, communication, team work, conflict management and time restrictions while being involved in any sports or social activity. when the institution gives less importance in this sector, students would be less likely to be involved in such activities which would eventually make them less pragmatic in realistic situation.

Finally, spending good amount of money in developing sports and social activities will enlarge the related clubs and and associations. when such thing happens, the institution brings out the best talents of this sector. For example, the university that inspires the students to participate in such activities by supporting them financially, talented individuals in this sector would be more interested in investing more time and effort to become their best versions. On the other hand, if they are supported by any means, they would leave their practice and would concentrate on something else which would be detrimental for such talents as well as the university.

In conclusion, the issue of whether sports and social activities should be given equal importance and financial support as classes and libraries is complex. some have suggested that academics should be given more importance than anything else. Nevertheless, I still contend that co-curricular activities should hold equal place in any institution.