What are some important qualities of a good supervisor (boss)? Use specific details and examples to explain why these qualities are important.

Subordinates have significant responsibilities towards their supervisors. On the other hand, bosses should meet certain qualities in order to lead the team in the finest way. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss two main qualities of an effective supervisor, namely knowledge and communication. I will also demonstrate examples to ascertain my arguments.

The first crucial characteristic of a decent supervisor is knowledge; the knowledge of the field, and awareness of available resources. Supervisors cannot lead their teams and employees when they lack in perceiving the basic demands, resources, and skills of their subordinates. In order to devise a clear roadmap, they need to be fully aware of their current situation and have a clear perspective of the objectives. It is only then that major plans can be set up and followed. For example, I was once enrolled in an undergraduate course named, System Analysis and Design. Almost fifty percent of the overall grade was devoted to a group project. The goal was to build a simple banking website. The group included me and two of my friends, Ali, and Reza. Even though Ali did not have any prior knowledge of back-end and front-end, he was selected as the group leader by the course instructor. The project turned out to be a disaster. We chose defective frameworks for designing the website. Moreover, we also could not manage our time appropriately and were not able to deliver the project with all the required features. In the end, we regretfully blamed Ali for assuming and retaining the management of the group.

The second vital characteristic of a great supervisor is communication. Communication is needed at all times. It is a fundamental aspect of having a coordinated team. Supervisors need to be aware of all the ongoing tasks and constantly revise their schedules. The employees should be informed to invest an adequate amount of their weekly time for communication purposes. For instance, I once registered in a math group competition with three of my friends. The whole duration of the contest was two hours and we were given ten questions to work on. I was elected as the group leader and started distributing questions according to members' expertise. I asked all the members to inform me of their progress every ten minutes and we kept an efficacious level of communication through the whole exam. At some points, I felt the need to change the configuration of task assignments and did so. After nearly 90 minutes, we solved all the problems and ended up being the champions.

In conclusion, I addressed wisdom and communication as two important qualities of an exceptional supervisor through the usage of real scenarios. I believe these two characteristics are crucial for each and every current or prospective boss.