what is a very important skill a person should learn?

“Social skills play a major role in people’s lives” Tara Westover, Educated, 2018. Which skill is important to people who should learn? Although believing that individuals should learn military skills, many people think that social skills are important. As far as I am concerned, social skills are part-and-parcel skills which a person should learn because it guarantees the moral health of societies, increases the people’s sound interactions, and impedes the unwarranted conflicts among them. In the following, I am inclined to put forth some arguments to illustrate the importance.

First and foremost, it has been illustrated that social skills play an important role to show the societies’ moral health. For instance, according to the official statistics of the UK, learning the social skills such as communication skills, team-working, be altruistic, etc. could be deemed as a barometer to detect the moral issues. Furthermore, these skills promote people to interact in a friendly manner. Therefore, learning social skills plays an important role to indicate the societies health.

Another thing coming to the mind is that it has been proven that people’s learning social skills reduce crime rates in society. For instance, according to a survey which has been applied by UT Southwestern University, it is shown that many culprits or felons had not have adequate and appropriate social skills as well as, from psychological points of view, they were the standoffish people; Thus, it seems reasonable to conclude that learning social skills reduces crime rates.

Last but not least, because of this fact that learning the social skills can improve people’s interactions, as a result, such skills reduce the unwarranted conflicts among them. For instance, based on a research published in Scientific Reports, learning social skills as an important skill mitigated the students’ conflicts in the classroom; Indeed, these skills emphasis on moral assets and group consensus instead of solidarity. Thus, learning social skills helps people to mitigate their conflicts due to the moral lessons.

In conclusion, although some people think that learning sciences or related subjects is an important skill, I prefer learning social skills because they reduce crime rates, unwarranted conflicts among people, and is a trustworthy barometer to detect the health of society. If people had learned such skills, societies would have not confronted with various social problems.