When people spend a lot of time watching sports on television or following their favorite team,it has negative effects on their lives

In my opinion, I enjoy playing sports and cheering for my teams at sporting events, but I feel like in our culture today, too much time is spent watching TV, following one's favorite team, playing fantasy football, and debating over players' merits. I am not arguing against playing sports, which are a great means of team building and exercise that help develop people physically and socially. But I am arguing against watching ESPN or spending countless hours debating team rankings.

As a sports fan myself, I can attest to the time I have wasted that I could have otherwise spent towards learning an instrument, reading a book, meeting new people, or engaging in some other intellectual activity. I constitute these activities as "not wasting time" because they help develop you as a person. In comparison, I feel like sports are a cop-out. Many people spend their lives in front of a TV screen applying strong rhetorical debate and analytical skills to a "pointless" conversation instead of more useful areas such as technology, politics, etc.

Why spend hours debating which team will win the championship when it comes down more to chance than anything? I completely agree that it is enjoyable, and I enjoy doing it myself, but just like many forms of entertainment, it is a waste of time that does not make you a better person the next day.

It seems that we as a society have, spent an enormous amount of time, money, resources, on sports. that does not suggest that sports are fruitless, but there is far too much emphasis on such activities. That is why we all ought to rethink with regard to it.

Since the dawn of age human life was completely different from what it is now, ages ago our ancestors had to be hard workers in order to survive their primary focus was to keep alert from predators or to have one meal a day, all their leisure time will be either on learning or evolving. Now in day humans are very passive creatures we sit on the couch watch and talk about sports events. Doing sports could be beneficial because essentially people are being active but to be in a passive mode or concern about things that aren't helping you out with the daily struggles of life it's no good "think about it".